Crack the Code

Crack the Code

Review: How I Became a Spy by Deborah Hopkinson The Lit Review Crew received this book from the author as an ARC and I am so happy to be able to share this book with the world. I gave this book four stars. The mystery, the quotes, the codes, and…
A Place For Everything

A Place For Everything

Review: The Train of Lost Things by Ammi-Joan Paquette Can’t Get Enough… Mystery-Is the train real? Where do your Lost Things go? What is the fog? Who is driving the train? How do you get Lost Things back? Heartache – The dad. 😰Love – the dad! His love for his…
It’s Not About You

It’s Not About You

Teacher post alert! I needed to take time to reflect and share something I experienced today. Reviews will commence soon. My sixth graders and I are well into our second semester of school. We are dealing with the dreary, cold weather (without snow) and we are exhausted. We are also…
Happy Book Birthday

Happy Book Birthday

Amy Dyckman has a new Misunderstood Shark book out…Misunderstood Shark: Friends Don’t Eat Friends! Happy Book Birthday! Last time on Underwater World with Bob Jellyfish…“SHARK ATE ME! Now get me OUT, Shark!”“That’s strange! I can hear Bob, but I can’t see Bob!”This hilarious follow-up to Misunderstood Shark by New York Times bestselling duo Ame…
Happy Book Birthday!

Happy Book Birthday!

A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer is celebrating it’s birthday today! Welcome to the world! In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.Fall in love, break the curse. It once seemed…
Happy Book Birthday!

Happy Book Birthday!

Happy Book Birthday to Golden Child by Claire Adam! A deeply affecting debut novel set in Trinidad, following the lives of a family as they navigate impossible choices about scarcity, loyalty, and loveRural Trinidad: a brick house on stilts surrounded by bush; a family, quietly surviving, just trying to live…
“Embrace your strange.”

“Embrace your strange.”

City of Ghosts By Victoria Schwab One of my favorite authors is Victoria Schwab. I love her Shades of Magic series and when I saw City of Ghosts written for Middle Grade students, I almost had a heart attack. I do believe I yelped a little and immediately bought a…