July Reads

July Reads

July 2018

This was a reading month! I went crazy during a 24 in 48 readathon (read 24 hours in a 48 hour time period) and I was trying to get caught up on my summer bookaday challenge. There were a lot of graphic novels and I got caught up on the Amulet series.

Total, I read 33 books! Here are the middle grade books I read and some thoughts on my favorites.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

⭐⭐⭐⭐ Perfect for fans of Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret!

⭐⭐⭐

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ I was blown away, once again, by the illustrations in all of the Amulet books. They are works of art.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

⭐⭐⭐⭐ I do love Ms. Marvel! She is a fun character to watch grow into her role as a superhero.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ I am glad I read this book. It reaffirmed my beliefs and gave me some great insight on doing better with reading for my students.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ I read this to my five year old and she loved it! She fell in love with Brightbill and is waiting “patiently” for the sequel.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ A great medieval story with a strong lead character who meets some wonderful characters along her journey. Can I add that the author is amazing? I gave a copy of this book I won to a student and she messaged me for the student’s name so she could send a personalized book plate to her and other book goodies! Amazing. Authors are amazing. This one is one of the most amazing.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

⭐⭐⭐⭐Now I need to read the novel.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ This was so much fun.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ I love these two sloths.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ I have been waiting for this book for so long. I loved the first, and the sequel was honestly, even better. My students will love this series. I can’t wait for the next book.

⭐⭐⭐⭐I am so glad there is a fantasy book for my students who are ready for something with a little more to it. This almost felt like a young adult book, but did not have as much mature content. Perfect for sixth graders because they are in a tricky age range! Love it.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Perfect summer read about friendships and growing up.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐I received this book from NetGalley and devoured it! I think it was a great story about grief and anxiety. It broke my heart several times, but had a wonderful lesson.

⭐⭐⭐⭐I read this with my five year old and I just love Dahl’s writing voice. Matilda was a great character and my daughter enjoyed the book as well.

That is it for my July reads! I am not going to set any goals for August because it is a CRAZY back to school month and my energy goes to my classroom and students. But, I know I will still be reading!

What did you read this month?

I am a middle school English Language Arts and Social Studies teacher.

There are 2 comments for this article
    • Mrs. Book Dragon Author at 11:15 pm

      I am a little shocked I read so much! My goal is 70 by the end of the summer and I really hope I get there. I’m not too far off! The graphic novel reads helped a lot, I was devouring those books left and right.

      Thank you! Happy reading to you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *