tragedy

REVIEW: The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

REVIEW: The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander Published March 18, 2014 “With a bolt of lightning on my kicks . . .The court is SIZZLING. My sweat is DRIZZLING. Stop all that quivering. Cuz tonight I’m delivering,” announces dread-locked, 12-year old Josh Bell. He and his twin brother Jordan are awesome on…
REVIEW: Inside Out and Back Again

REVIEW: Inside Out and Back Again

Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhaa Lai Published: 2011 Inside Out and Back Again is a New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award! Inspired by the author’s childhood experience of fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to…
REVIEW: Counting By 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan

REVIEW: Counting By 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan

Counting B y 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan Publication Date: 2013 In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius,…