Review: The Spinner of Dreams by K.A. Reynolds

Review: The Spinner of Dreams by K.A. Reynolds

Mark your calendar for August 27, 2019.

Add to your Goodreads.

Pre-order here and enter for a chance to win an amazing Pre-Order Giveaway.

You do not want to miss out on this book! Trust me.

This is a less-than-traditional review for me. I felt so many things, and am still feeling them, that I feel like I need to write more of a story for you.

Let me describe my experience reading this book for you. I received this book through my ARC-sharing crew, the Lit Review Crew. I signed up to read this book for a couple of reasons: I had heard many great things about her debut novel, The Land of Yesterday, I had seen this book on Twitter and heard it was amazing, and I loved the cover. When I got the book in the mail, I was pretty excited, but I had other books that were “higher priority” because they would be published sooner than this one, so I put it on my shelf and dove into other reads. Then, finally, it was this book’s turn to be read.

I stared at the cover. I looked so closely so I could see each detail. I want a poster of this cover for my classroom. I want the artist to draw me a picture. I loved this cover so very, very much. My students love books with eye-catching covers (I mean, who doesn’t?) and this book will definitely grab their attention.

I opened the book and began flipping through the pages and was greeted by more gorgeous illustrations and these would continue as chapter headings and in other places throughout the story.

Then, I began the story. I am such a fan of mythology and fantasy, so right away I knew this book would be enjoyable. It began with a folktale of two sisters, The Spinner of Dreams and the Spinner of Fate. One is loved by all of her people, the other hated. Then, the story moved to Annalise’s story and I was teleported to this whole new world.

Now, I am not going to go into much detail here. I don’t want to spoil anything or ruin an experience for you. But, I will share my journal with you to look at if you wish. I included quotes and connections that I made. I could have written everything down as a quote because Reynolds’ writing is absolutely beautiful.

Oh, and if you are looking for a review…it is 5 stars, obviously. This book is magical, full of adventure, and perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Hunger Games, The Trials of Morrigan Crow, and many other fantasy novels.

Did you add it to your calendar yet?

Happy reading!

I am a middle school English Language Arts and Social Studies teacher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *